top of page


Public·11 members

Philippine History By Teodoro Agoncillo And Fe Mangahas 16.pdf

The Tagalog area, which is the homeland of the Tagalog people and the birthplace of the Filipino national language, is currently divided into four administrative regions in the Philippines: Central Luzon, excluding Pampanga; CALABARZON; MIMAROPA; and NCR or Metro Manila. Central Luzon comprises four provinces: Nueva Ecija, which is known for its rice production; Bulacan, which is a historical and cultural center; Bataan, which is famous for its role in World War II; and a part of Tarlac, which is home to the ancestral house of former President Corazon Aquino. CALABARZON consists of five provinces: Cavite, which is the site of many historical events and landmarks; Laguna, which is rich in natural attractions and hot springs; Batangas, which is known for its beaches, diving spots, and coffee; Rizal, which is named after the national hero Jose Rizal; and Quezon, which is the largest province in the region and hosts the annual Pahiyas Festival. MIMAROPA comprises five island provinces: Oriental Mindoro, which is famous for its white sand beaches and marine biodiversity; Occidental Mindoro, which is the home of the indigenous Mangyan people; Romblon, which is renowned for its marble products and heritage sites; Palawan, which is considered as the last ecological frontier of the country and a UNESCO World Heritage Site; and Marinduque, which is known for its Moriones Festival and butterfly farms. NCR, which was established in 1975 as a special administrative region, incorporates 16 cities and one municipality into what is now known as Metropolitan Manila or Metro Manila. The 16 cities are Manila, the capital city and the oldest city in the country; Quezon City, the largest city in terms of population and land area; Pasay City, the gateway to the country with its international airport and seaport; Caloocan City, the northernmost city in Metro Manila; Makati City, the financial and business hub of the country; Mandaluyong City, a major commercial and shopping center; San Juan City, a small but highly urbanized city; Las PiÃas City, a former salt-making center that now boasts of its bamboo organ and historical churches; Malabon City, a coastal city known for its seafood and delicacies; Navotas City, a fishing port and an industrial city; Pasig City, a former rural town that has transformed into a modern city with its Ortigas Center; ParaÃaque City, a city with a mix of urban and rural features and a host of festivals and events; Taguig City, a fast-growing city that houses the Bonifacio Global City and other upscale developments; Muntinlupa City, a progressive city that has the New Bilibid Prison as its landmark; Marikina City, a city famous for its shoe industry and cleanliness; and Valenzuela City, a city that prides itself on its culture and history. The only municipality in Metro Manila is Pateros, which is known for its duck-raising industry and balut production. In 1995, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) was created by Republic Act (RA) 7924 to replace the Metropolitan Manila Commission, which had been created in 1975. The MMDA is headed by a chairman, who is appointed by the president of the Philippines; a council made up of the mayors of the cities and municipality as voting members; and the heads of several national government agencies such as the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC), the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), the Department of Tourism (DOT), the Department of Budget and Management (DBM), the Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council (HUDCC), and the Philippine National Police (PNP) as non-voting members. The MMDA is responsible for planning, monitoring, coordinating, regulating, implementing, and administering metro-wide programs and projects concerning traffic management, solid waste disposal and management, flood control and sewerage management, urban renewal ... 0efd9a6b88


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...

Group Page: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page